Skip to content

历任前世 

百折不饶的大威德英雄

热译师

西藏自古以来的译师中,很少有人能跟极富传奇色彩的热译师多吉扎之声誉相抗衡。尽管今日热译师的事迹和伟业已享誉全球,但并非总是如此。事实上,他一辈子都被视为杀人者和黑巫术的推广者。在试图将大威德金刚密续引入西藏时,热译师曾面对并克服了无数巨大的阻力和障碍。然而,今日他则被视为一位伟大的圣贤,以及最高教义的传承守护者。

热译师生于一个叫聂南木的边境城镇。该城镇位于西藏和尼泊尔之间的主要贸易通道上。根据传说,偌马缇女神他出生后不久就将他带在长袍里,在西藏各地旅游了两个月。

自小,热译师就展露出语言和学术上的巨大天赋,并与佛教有着极深的缘分,这只能解释为他前世印记的结果。开始学习佛法时,他只有七岁。然而,他却能轻易背诵一切所学,并将之清楚地讲解给老师,令每个人都感到十分惊讶。他八岁那年开始学习书写,不久后就掌握许多西藏、尼泊尔和印度的经典文字。他的父亲是宁玛派央达嘿汝嘎和普巴金刚的传承持有人,并将传承传给了自己的儿子。

14岁时,热译师首次前往尼泊尔,在精通金刚亥母和大威德金刚密续教法的尼泊尔巴若大师座下学习。见到上师之后,热译师立即顶礼跪拜并献上七卷绸缎,随后恭敬地向上师请求教诲。

上师表示在赐予灌顶之前,热译师必须献上所需供养。热译师闻言,立刻悉数献上他袋子里的黄金。然而,巴若大师还不满意,继续向他要求更多供养。热译师于是除下身上的衣服,将它们折叠整齐后再供养给上师。即便如此,上师还是不满意,但这是热译师身上已经没有什么可做供养了。最后,他象征性地供养自己的身、语、意,这个举动让上师十分高兴。巴若大师指出,西藏的依止精神并不是他所想的那样,是一项浮夸且毫无意义的行为。热译师离开尼泊尔的时候,他已经从巴若大师那里接受了许多灌顶和教诲,其中也包括金刚亥母和大威德金刚密续灌顶。

返回西藏后,热译师开始弘扬大威德密续教法,但却遭到反对,因为许多人无法接受一个拥有动物头像的本尊(禅定尊)。他们认为这一定是某种非清净的修持,有些人甚至说他在传播一种将导致所有藏人下地狱的外道教法。另一些人则质疑其上师的资格,并使用巫术来对付他。有一次,一场冲突涉及了数以百计的村庄,当一些村民涌向热译师,指责他伤害他们时,热译师使用法力将他们降伏,并把他们的心识送到文殊菩萨的净土。

又一次,有一位喇嘛妒忌热译师的知名度日益提升,就派遣了众女神给他制造超自然的干扰。热译师降伏了这些女神,使得女神转而为他服务,这件事激怒了另一个喇嘛。热译师的弟子请他将这位喇嘛送走,他起初不赞同,因为他绝不会攻击另一位佛教大师。然而,观音菩萨在他禅定中现身,建议他捍卫自己的传承而投入神通之战,他照做了。

一次又一次,热译师因陷入各种冲突,而被迫捍卫自己的传承。据说,在多场大师之间的神通斗法中,共有13名喇嘛被杀,以突显大威德金刚密续的威力和有效性。

公元1076年,热译师参加火龙年法会,出席者也包括俄译师洛丹喜饶。这场盛会聚集了来自西藏和印度当时最重要的大师们,旨在鼓励生产更多更精准的翻译新作。大会之后,热译师获选与另五位年轻藏人共同前往印度,其中包括俄译师洛丹喜饶和达玛扎。后两者后来也成为各自领域中的杰出译师。

热译师圆寂时,在西藏各地已享有极高名望。那不仅是因为他强大的密续力量,也来自他广大的佛法事业。他几乎倾尽一切财富来修复于公元986年惨遭大火烧毁的西藏第一寺院——桑耶寺,也资助了大量将梵文经典翻译成藏文、在各大寺院复制和念诵经典,以及安置许多大型佛像的工作。

热译师一生供养了无数酥油灯,为许多佛像镀金,并为尼泊尔和中国的众多寺院供养许多茶。他也因将成千上万只动物放生,从而挽救它们的生命而闻名。热译师一生的事迹启发了无数僧俗群众尾随他的做法而投入各种修持。

图像库:

Skip to content

Previous Lives 

The Indomitable Yamantaka Hero

Ra Lotsawa

Of the translators throughout Tibet’s history, few can rival the reputation and renown of the legendary Ra Lotsawa Dorje Drakpa. And whilst Ra Lotsawa is today universally celebrated for his deeds and activities, it was not always this way. In fact, during his lifetime, he was thought of as a murderer and a proliferator of the dark arts. Ra Lotsawa famously faced and subdued immense obstacles and huge resistance when he was trying to introduce the Yamantaka tantras to Tibet. Today however, he is believed to have been a great saint, guardian and lineage holder of the highest teachings.

Ra Lotsawa was born in the border town of Nyenam, which lies on the main trading route between Tibet and Nepal. According to legend, soon after his birth the goddess Remati took the infant into her robe and traveled across Tibet for two months.

From a young age, Ra Lotsawa showed a great aptitude for linguistics and scholarship, as well as a deep affinity with the Dharma that could only be explained as past life imprints coming to fruition. He was seven when he began his Dharma education. He astonished everyone with his ability to easily memorise everything he was taught and clearly explain it back to his teachers. When he was eight, he learnt how to write and later, he went on to master various Tibetan, Nepali and Indian scripts. His father was a lineage holder of the Nyingma traditions of Yangdak Heruka and Vajrakila, and he passed these lineages on to his son.

At the age of 14, Ra Lotsawa made his first trip to Nepal where he trained under Barom Chagdum, the great Nepalese master who was an adept of the Vajravarahi and Yamantaka tantric systems. Upon meeting his guru, Ra Lotsawa prostrated and presented Barom with offerings of seven bolts of silk fabric. Then he humbly asked for the guru’s profound instructions.

The guru requested the mandatory offering for the initiation he wanted to bestow. Immediately, Ra Lotsawa presented all of the gold that he had in his pouch but Barom was not satisfied and continued to press him for more offerings. So Ra Lotsawa took off his clothes, folded them into a neat pile and offered them up. This was still not enough but Ra Lotsawa had nothing left to offer. Finally, he symbolically offered up his body, speech and mind, which pleased his guru greatly. Barom remarked that Tibetan devotion was not frivolous, just as he had thought. By the time Ra Lotsawa left Nepal, he had received, amongst many others, the initiations of the Vajravarahi and Yamantaka tantras from his guru Barom.

Upon returning to Tibet, Ra Lotsawa proliferated the Yamantaka tantras but encountered resistance as many could not accept an animal-faced yidam (meditational deity). They thought that it must be a corrupted practice and some accused him of propagating a non-Buddhist teaching, one that would lead all Tibetans to hell. Others questioned the legitimacy of his teachers and directed black magic against him. In one instance, a conflict ended up involving hundreds of villages and when some villagers marched against Ra Lotsawa, accusing him of harming them, he subdued them with his magic and sent their consciousness to the pure land of Manjushri.

In another instance, a lama grew jealous of Ra Lotsawa’s growing popularity and sent goddesses to create tremendous paranormal disturbances for him. Ra Lotsawa subdued the goddesses, who in turn offered themselves to serve him, an act which infuriated the other lama. His students pleaded with him to dispatch the lama but he initially refused as he would never attack another Buddhist master. However, a vision of Avalokiteshvara advised him to defend his lineage and engage in magical combat, and so he did.

Thus, over and over again, Ra Lotsawa found himself in confrontational situations where he had to defend his lineage. In the ensuing magical battles of psychic powers, it is said that in all, 13 lamas were slain in a divine play between great masters to highlight the power and efficacy of the Yamantaka tantras.

In 1076 CE, Ra Lotsawa attended the Fire Dragon Conference, the same religious gathering that was also attended by Lotsawa Loden Sherab. This meeting of the most important teachers of the era, both Tibetan and Indian, was dedicated to encouraging new and more accurate translation work. Following the meeting, Ra Lotsawa was selected to travel to India, accompanied by five other young Tibetans, including Loden Sherab and Dharma Drak, both of whom later became esteemed translators in their own right.

By the time Ra Lotsawa entered clear light, he was known throughout Tibet not just for his tantric powers but also for his other widespread Dharma activities. He spent much of his wealth renovating temples including Samye, Tibet’s first monastery, which was damaged by fire in 986 CE. He also sponsored numerous translations of Sanskrit texts into Tibetan, the duplication and recitations of scriptures at various monasteries, and the installation of many large Buddha statues.

Ra Lotsawa made innumerable butter lamp offerings, gilded many statues, and offered large quantities of tea to various temples and monasteries, from Nepal to China. He was also well known to liberate thousands of animals, thereby saving their lives. He became an inspiration for countless people, both lay and ordained, to engage in these practices throughout their lives.

Image Gallery: